24 hours of Lemons build

ck1racerx

PR Addict
Well day 1 of the Lemons build is complete. Bought a 1992 Ranger V6 5 speed at the Goodwill auction this morning. Only 61k miles on this baby. $350
Wicked fuel leak in a line at the tank so Mommy and daddy helped me pull it home and started digging in. Now I am no mechanic... but I have turned more than a few wrenches. Never have I had the pleasure of tearing stuff off a vehicle knowing it’s not going back on and I don’t have to worry about scratching or denting anything. Pry bar and beer have been the tools of choice today.
Plan is as follows.
1. Remove the bed. Cut the floor out.
2. Remove tank and fuel lines. Replace with fuel cell and braided lines
3. Cut out completely rusted leaf spring mount and fab and weld in new.
4. Cut off hitch and anything else that adds weight and doesn’t add power.

Once that is done then move onto stripping the interior and building a roll cage.

Then drivetrain

Then suspension and massive brakes.

Then????

This is going to be fun.

Anyone want a fiberglass truck cap?

Attachments

• 47420202-BBCE-4038-BA36-C3AFE697BACA.jpeg
    47420202-BBCE-4038-BA36-C3AFE697BACA.jpeg
    305.1 KB · Views: 426
  • 2B0BCACE-C9AC-45B7-908D-B04DC9C21A70.jpeg
    2B0BCACE-C9AC-45B7-908D-B04DC9C21A70.jpeg
    156.3 KB · Views: 403
rust.jpg

So, yeah... theres that...
All four leaf spring hanger brackets where almost or completely rusted off the frame.
Cut the rest of the brackets off, removed the fuel tank and rusted through shocks.
New stiff springs, brackets, bushings and shocks ordered. Should be on my door step when I get home today. $219. So why is a single shock for a MX bike $900???

you are replacing junk with junk for $219, you can spend a million dollars on automotive suspension too.

wait till you get to the safety section of that lemons rule book.

Another victim to ROAD SALT!
One would think that by now we could come up with a better solution that doesn't destroy automobiles.