Pre-mix oil talk

NQ1965

PR Elite
My riding buddy has a new KTM150 and was told by the dealer for pre-mix to run Amsoil @ 50:1.
Does this sound right to you guys?

Many of the oils these days state 50:1.

I still can't bring myself to do that though.....like Sharc I run 40:1 but with Klotz.

50:1 seems pretty crazy to me.. idk. I always was told 32:1 growing up so I continued to run that... i'd rather be on the safe side!! I know a lot of people doing 40:1 too though.

50:1 is fine. Thats all I've run since I started riding. A YZ 125 with MC1 @ 50:1 then ditched that for Maxima SuperM @50:1, ran it in my 125, KDX 200 and still to this day in my 500. What does the manual recommend?

Sounds about right for Synthetic or semi-synthetic Premix oils, You are able to run a little lighter ratio (more gas to oil) such as the suggested 50 parts gas to 1 part oil.

Personally I prefer to stay on the Heavier side 40:1 as someone else stated above. I would rather change an oil fouled plug once in a while, as apposed to a crank, or something due to lack of oil.

*** Remember this is for SYNTHETICS only, If you are using the regular 2 stroke oil then stay with the heavier mix 32:1 ratio. which is 32 parts gas to 1 part oil.

What does the manual recommend?

He's a good friend so I poke fun at him. I asked him that very question one time on another issue on another of his bikes..........he looked at me with his head tilted sideways like a confused puppy dog. End of discussion!

All Amsoil 2 cycle oils are 50:1 mix (3 different ones). They even have a 100:1 mix for chainsaws and small engine 2 strokes.

My smoker burns Maxima k2 at 32:1, and before K2 was invented, it was Castor 927 at 32:1. I dont even mix the weedeater gas at 50:1. I would entertain 40:1, if I were sponsored by a piston and ring manufacturer, lol.

per the Maxima Oils website:

Recommended Premix Ratios
50-80cc (24-32:1) | 125cc (24-40:1) | 250cc (24-40:1) | 500cc and up (32-60:1)