02 kx 125

shaffstall721

PR Member
My buddys got a 125 that seems to run fine sometimes, but i rode it the other day and when im at full throttle high RPMS it does like a spudder, it almost seems like a fuel cut off like a rev limited in a car but then it goes again. Its not at over rev either ide say about 3/4th of the way revved up. Its def. running rich i have no idea if that could be the problem or what, we just changed the top end (which it was doing this before that). Any ideas?

I no zero about adjusting carbs? Main jet leaned out a bit or? his plug is black as can be, and even has the oil spilling out the tailpipe. sorry im a newb when it comes to this my daddy used to do this for me lol

This is a total stab in the dark and may sound silly BUT... Put in a new plug. "Don't look at the old one or check it on the side of the head for spark", Just change it with a new one. PERIOD. Then let us know? If that fails try a new coil. The reason I say this is that the ignition could be failing (breaking down) at higher RPM's due to the advancing of the ignition timing. Will work fine at lower RPM's then fails when the demand for advancing the timing comes into play. JUST a SHOT.
Sometimes it is the simplest things we overlook.

1- drain the gas
2- install a fresh plug
3- put in new gas about 42:1 mix, I never run 32:1
let the bike warm up to operating temp, run it wide open through a field, pull the plug out right away, it should be a nice tan color. if its black use a smaller main jet, white use a bigger one.

if that dont work check your reeds make sure they are seating correctly and not broken. and maybe even a new ring/piston