Old bike question

streaks383

PR Addict
I am selling a 2004 YZ-85 very mint. I had contact with someone who wanted to trade me an 85 RM-125. He says it is very clean. So what is it worth? Where could I race it and what class? CRA Bomber I know but does ARHMA have a class for it?

Photo-0068.jpg

Photo-0067.jpg

Aside from ugly black fenders, random stickers, dinged pipe, worn tires does anyone see obvious flaws? The seat looks strange to me, I cant put my finger on it though. Is it the rear fender? is it the wrong one for the bike?

rear fender looks very wrong for that bike,I'm no RM expert but that looks wrong,bike looks to be in very good shape otherwise,I think ahrma has a class for the disc brake bikes now but you should check their site for more info

Rear fender and seat are wrong. Fender I believe is a "universal" type fender from UFO. Seat is from 86-88 model that had a different frame and rear suspension.

This is what a 1985 RM125 looks like stock:
1985_RM125_yell_side_450.jpg

It's tough to really judge value just going off a picture. If the bike has not had a bunch of hands turning wrenches on it that is a good thing. It looks pretty decent though, I would guess in the $600 range?

AHRMA has a support class that allows front disc, and AMA Vintage Days also has one. There isn't a huge market for buying these bikes though so I wouldn't suggest trading if you just wanted to resell.

I wouldn't swap the YZ for that particular RM unless they throw 500 bones + into the pot. I'd also check to see what's under that seat to make sure somebody didn't do any frame mods to accomodate the wrong seat, and Honda rear fender. If I were going to get an old bike, I'd look for one that a competent person already restored. I can see having to put another $1500 into that RM that would only be worth $1500 in restored condition. It's be like giving the YZ away. --L*64