Help Needed - Plan to buy KTM50

Vargo671

PR Addict
I am looking to transition my son from a CRF50 to a KTM50 and could use some help. There are several models available and I need to understand which is the best for MX. I found a KTM50 Junior (2006) and was wondering if this fits the bill. Also, is anyone able to list pro's and con's to the bike/bikes?

Thanks in advance!

I am not a peewee pro, but have been through this before. Ktm if your planing on racing go with pro jr, not mini adverture (there is not a class in the cra, but there is in the ama). as far as Ktm or Cobra I've been told cobras break more often but easy to get parts for. Ktm don't break as much but good luck getting parts. My boys have a king and jr cobra and have not had bad luck with them. They are screamers lol!

+2 on the pro jr ktm. I just got one for my boy a few weeks ago and he loves it. The big thing with the bikes are clutch set up. My boy went from a ttr 50 to the ktm and I ended up having to put the adventurer springs in the clutch in lue of the washer stack cause he was use to the roll on throttle of the 4 stroke. He didnt like having to hold the throttle wide open to get it to move! Other than that, and just going through things cause it was a used,not well maintained bike,it has been trouble free. If you get a ktm I recomend joining ktmtalk.com. There is a lot of good info on bike set up there

Been through 3 ktms. Junior or senior depends on your sons age. Stay away from Cobras. They are a night mare a good rider on the local level can compete with them on a ktm. I never used washer stacks and had great luck with ktms amd not all the maintenance. Too many "mini" dads think they are mike goessler and gonna make the bike way faster and it just causes reliablity issues. Try to get a '09 or newer. That's the ones with the new updates and they are much better bikes.