Rekluse Clutch

Glassy

PR Member
I am thinking about putting one on my 08CRF450. I raced motocross growing up until I was 22 and got out of it until this year (turning 35 in a month!). Although I love my CRF450, I have a terrible problem stalling the bike in tight corners and the bike gets a little rough handling in 2nd gear if the track is not groomed really well. My theory is that I can hit the corners in 3rd gear making the corners smoother and get better traction to the rear tire instead of the rear tire trying to slide out in a lower gear due to the pure torque the 450's have.

I will add that even though I have been riding the 450 4 stroke for a few months now, my mind is still programmed on a 2 stroke clutch and I have to mentally remind myself not to slip the clutch on the 4 stroke. I just think it would be so much easier to ride in a higher gear and get on the gas.

For those of you who have ridden a conventional clutch vs the Rekluse in motocross, what are your thoughts? Also, does it reduce arm pump since you dont have to really mess with the clutch when riding?

Thanks in advance

I would just advise you to change up sprockets and your gearing ratio's, sounds to me that would be better than dropping the dough on a rekluse clutch.

I had a Full Hinson Clutch basket system in the yz450 i rode and loved it, but it wasnt a slip clutch,

Well I just dropped the dough this morning to order it. I didnt buy the full conversion, only the kit that replaces the non friction plate and springs.

It should be here on Thursday and installed Friday. I will update as to how well I like it and if it makes riding the 450 easier.

You should be able to lug through turns in just about any gear on the 450....

Even in tight corners just a flick of the clutch and any gear from 1st-4th will probably rip your arms out. That 450 definitely won't fall on its face like a 2 stroke.