curiosity and track owners under 18 rule...

iMoto23

PR Member
just curious, when going to a race/open practice, does anyone actually check IDs? tracks post "must have parent or guardian signature if under 18" but i mean, do they actually check now a days? since the day i turned 16, if no one could go riding with me i just went by myself. ive never had anyone ask for my ID. i was only 17 after i graduated from high school (didn't turn 18 until almost a year later) and i was going somewhere different every weekend. i went to briarcliff every sunday for about 5 months because i loved it so much. wednesdays, thursdays, fridays, & saturdays i went elsewhere like beans, oir, 330, malvern, apple cabin, smith road, etc. you name the track, i was there. i went to about 3-4 different tracks every week for a good 5 straight months. so if tracks are not IDing kids... should they start? what if some kid went off and didn't tell his parents he went riding, and got hurt and they sued the track? (hopefully no idiot would ever do that) would the track be at fault? when someone comes to our track to ride, my dad actually checks their ID and if they're under 18 he won't let them ride unless a parent comes and signs the waiver. i'm just curious if tracks are IDing now or not...

Well if you were breaking that rule why bring it up. There are probably more just like you.....

I remember going to Dirtworld one time when I was 17 in my truck. They gave me a real hard time about riding because my dad wasn't with me. I used to hangout with Brian (Mike's son) alot and they still checked and made me get some notarized letters to take with me.