Want to race Mid Ohio post vintage - Help on bike coice please...

Ls1

PR Member
I have been going to VMD for over 8 yrs now. Never miss it. I am a road and dirt rider (36 yrs old). I am really wanting to race the scramble and the motocross track to run two races during the weekend.

Reason for my post: Does anyone have a year range that is ideal to be competitive in the post vintage 250cc B/C class? I may run 30+.

I am looking at a 1981 CR250. This should allow me to run 250 C class both in the woods and on the motocross track...is this correct?

I was looking at the newest bike allowed to compete (96) but if I do that I am only able to run the woods race and not on the MX track according to the sign in sheets on AMA vintage days web site.

I am a veteran of MX - Raced a 97 CR250 for five years. I ride a 2007 VFR800 on the road and I have a pretty moded out pit bike I race on the local scene when I can and I have a track in the backyard built just for the KLX110s that I ride on almost daily.

Does anyone have a good preference at least as far as the year of the bike they would recomend for someone wanting to run the woods on Friday and on the MX track on Sunday?

I am particular to Honda but will ride about anything. I want to stay w Honda/Yam/Suz/Kaw just for parts availability.

Any advise is greatly appreciated and I am looking forward to joining the vintage racing scene - at least at mid ohio once a yr - sick of watching the races and thinkin - "should bought a bike"

My son races mx non-current and hare scramble I think they call modern. Both of those classes allow up to 1996. He rides his 96 cr in both

I am particular to Honda but will ride about anything. I want to stay w Honda/Yam/Suz/Kaw just for parts availability.

All of the bikes from that era 81-83 (I think) were good machines but I'm sure each had their Achilles heal.