How did you get started in racing?

ck1racerx

PR Addict
How do people get into MX? This started else where but I thought it would be a good topic... Did you see it on TV? Was it at a fair? A track across town? Or a friend of a buddy? Everyone finds there way to Moto a little different. Maybe hearing everyone's story will help pinpoint where the focus should be to attract new riders.

My Grandfather started holding races on his property in 1975 called Happy Hollow. We ran races from '76 until '88. The track then became a just an open track for practice and stayed that way until my Grandfather died in 2002. (Then it was sold and the guy basically cut all the trees, did not take care of it and it closed) I started riding at age 4 racing at 9 in the Mini Jr. class. I was around "off-road" motorcycling since the day I was born so that how I got started...

Lets hear your story?

I grew up with a brother 9 years older than me. He put me on a Honda mini trail 50 when I was 3 years old. I mostly rode around our property untill I was 9 years old. Then we built a track in our pasture field and began riding on that. At age 10 I competed in my first race at Sunset Ramblers in Galion,OH. The funny part is I pulled the holeshot and it scared the crap out of me. I still get reminded of that day every now and then. Traveled around with my brother and his friends racing / riding until I was old enough to drive myself. Only missed a few years from riding from then until now. Now I am having as much fun riding as I ever have traveling and riding with my son. I can't imagine a time when I won't want to ride!

I was minding my own business at home as a young lad, with nothing but thoughts of baseballs and footballs in my head.......