New guy to old bikes

KX514

PR Member
So I'm new to this vintage bike business. I was given a 1976 Honda elsinore cr 125 about 10 years ago and I'm just now getting around to making it run. I can handle the engine and things like that, but my biggest question is what is my best option for rear shocks? It seems like there are some options out there for every budget, but I don't want to buy junk. I don't want anything real crazy in price though either (for now). I figured that maybe some of you guys would know a general direction to point me in. I'm a total noob with vintage motocross bikes. Just looking to make the bike function decent this year. Something better than stock, but not a grand either. Any help at all would be awesome.

It all comes down to how much you want to spend. You can get Progressive Suspension shocks somewhat cheap, I have no idea how they work. Works Performance are good but can still be like 5-600 bucks a pair.

Works for B rider work fine but fast A or B riders run Ohlins as pricey but u get what you pay for. Welcome to Vintage racing as you will have as great time! Maico Mark

Anyone I have ever heard that bought progressive regrets it-looks fine but performance???. WP is actually a good shock and well worth it from what I have read. I would make that my minimum for sure. Might want to post on marks vintage(google it) and see if someone has a good set. Whatever you do, new or used, make sure you get something you can rebuild. Also I think the key is the eye to eye length that the bike needs to A.meet the travel rules for vintage and B.not throw off the balance. The good stuff, especially used, may not specify 76 CR 125 so make sure you know what that range or number is. Good luck and we will look forward to seeing another rider added to the addiction.......