I'm back......and torn between two worlds!

SCHAFFERNOCKER

PR Addict
Thanks for the input guys.....think I'm going to stick with the 450 to be on the safe side! I know I'll love it and don't want to take the chance on disliking the 250 and trying to sell it

I think this is a good choice. Ive been riding an rm250 for the past three years. Its fun as hell, was cheap to rebuild, and faster than i need it to be. But, Im constantly hanging onto this bike. Two laps later im worn out. Im now on the fence of finding a 450 because a four stroke is alot easier for me to ride (that sounds bad) but its the truth. A four stroke bike is relaxing to ride vs a two stroke. 4 strokes take a blip of the throttle. 2 strokes take all of the throttle. All my opinion of course.

hershey

PR Elite
No they're not, huskys have a few different parts, composite subframe for instance... And the 17 fc450 has 1 more hp that the '17 450sxf

And if you read the tests for the 16 models the Husky got better marks in the handling dept because of the few differences.

The toughest part about buying a new bike is the inability to test each model. Other than a friend that has one or one of the few test ride days you're screwed. It would be great if it were as easy as going to a car dealership for test drives!!

owndjoo

PR Member
Two stroke is definitely much harder to ride fast, but will help make you a faster rider. I would like to get another 450, but keep the CR250 as well. Everyone I know that has added a flywheel weight on their 250's say it made the bike muuuuch easier to ride and helped with the "hanging on" that comes with the power delivery.

NQ1965

PR Elite
Reading this thread has been interesting as well as entertaining.

Every time I ride a modern bike race, my illogical and easily misguided brain tells me that I need to quit beating on my old equipment and finally get with the modern age and get my ass on a 4 stroke. Especially when I get waxed in a race by the competition.