Racing and kids....how to keep the ones you have in the sport!

hershey

PR Elite
Ive been racing since the year after I graduated high school. Ive seen lots of crazy things. Today topped it for me.

Many of you have seen or heard that I have no problem sticking up for kids when their parents are yelling at them. A handful of times over the years I have confronted parents in the middle of their tirade and stopped them. What kid is really going to want to come to the track if they know they are going to potentially get yelled at for their performance?

You want to keep kids riding and racing ???? Dont yell at them for performance issues or anything else about riding!

At the races today I witnessed a parent going off on their kid....a young rider, on a pw50....that young. I was going to talk to the parent (who also races) about it but didnt have the time right then. About an hour later as I pulled off from a moto of mine I noticed a couple of police cars in the parking area. When I walked back up about 15 mins later there were 4 police cars.

Turns out the same parent got so upset with his kid that he threw a wrench and hit him with it. Luckly the people around him got the kid away and called the police. They ended up taking the boy away and then the father was taken into custody with his truck and toy hauler towed away.

On one side I started thinking it was too bad I hadnt talked to the Dad before this and maybe prevented the emotional and physical abuse for the young boy. Then I thought maybe it was better this way, maybe it happens to the boy other times and now that will end.

I cant imagine what it takes to abuse your child over riding at such a young age, or any age. Abuse is far different than pushing them to do better. Not to mention the 4th of July will always be the day the boy remembers as the day his Dad went to jail for hitting him with a wrench not a fun summer holiday.